Power BI – Groups

One can use groups to create spaces where people can share their content packs.

You do need a Power BI Pro to create and use groups. It you don’t have Pro yet, it will ask you to upgrade:

Power BI Pro for Groups

Power BI Pro for Groups

Click “Try Pro for free”:

Power BI Pro Trial

Power BI Pro Trial

Click “Start trial”.

Once upgraded, click on my Workspace from the left-hand-side > Click “CREATE A GROUP +”:

Power BI Create a Group

Power BI Create a Group

You can set the name and privacy of this group.

Group Privacy: The privacy has two settings:
Sight:
– Private – only approved members can see what’s inside..
– Public – anyone can see what’s inside.

Modification:
– Members can edit Power BI content.
– Member can only view the Power BI content.

Power BI Create a Group 2

Power BI Create a Group 2

After you create the group, you can access it by clicking on the arrow on your workplace, click on the group from the “Group Workspaces”, and you can also modify it by clicking on the right edge of its icon and choose “Edit Group”.

Power BI Edit a Group

Then when you add a person, this person gets added to the group:

Power BI Edit a Group

Power BI Edit a Group

 

Sharing Content Packs with your group:
After you create your group, you can share your content packs with that specific group. Go to View Content Pack > Update Content Pack > Choose who will have access to this content pack, then type down the name of your group, it will show up as “G1”:

Power BI Share with Group

Power BI Share with Group

Consuming Group Content Packs:
1. Once you or someone else shared a content pack with the group, it will show on the content pack library of the group, and of each user of the group.

Power BI Consume Group Content Pack Library

Power BI Consume Group Content Pack Library

2. You can import it to the group by going to the group workplace and import it through the content pack library of the group (through “Get Data”).

3. Once imported and only then, will it show on the group workplace. It will not automatically show on your personal workplace. There are two ways You can make your own copy of this content and modify it depending on where you want your modified copy to reside:

3.a. Go the group workplace and right click on the dashboard/content and choose “Make a Copy”. This way you can modify your version of the content while this new copy stays in the group and shared with everyone. You can choose this if you want instant visibility on changes to certain dashboards, like two BI designers working together on one dashboard.

Power BI Make Copy

Power BI Make Copy

3.b. Go to your “My Workplace” and import this content through Get Data > your Content Pack Library. You would then need to “Make a Copy” of it in your work-space. This way you can modify your version of the content while keeping this new copy private until you are sure of sharing it, then you can share it through publishing this content pack with the group/certain users.

Group Content: once you access the group, you are no longer in your “Workplace”. So you won’t see your dashboards, reports, or datasets. You will rather see the ones that were shared by users to the whole group, using the above method. : content packs, organization link which will lead you to your group’s content packs, services, etc.

Powrer BI - Access a Group

Powrer BI – Access a Group

Further interesting notes:

– Creating a group can be performed by any Power BI Pro user, and surprisingly it results in creating Office 365 groups. On the other hand, only admins can delete groups. So as an advice, only create groups that you are so sure you need, and no admin may mistakenly delete.

– The default space for each group is 10GB. So here is a great and virtually unlimited source for storing dashboards by multiple groups, as personal spaces are limited by 10 GB.

– The option of dashboards Sharing is not available from within a group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *